Edible Flowers

Tuberous Begonias

P1010019
Are you surprised? I was, now I’m curious, it is supposed to have a citrus flavour, the entire plant is edible! I’ll try them, once I have my own organic flowers!

My favourite edible blossom is the chives flower, I guess it’s not really a flower, but the flavour and color that these little blossoms have is amazing.

2012 june 009

I wish I had a better picture for you. I break up the blossoms pulling apart the individual tips, and use for garnishing salads, it looks and tastes awesome!

8 thoughts on “Edible Flowers

  1. I had no idea! I usually have a large Dragon wing Begonia every summer on my patio, are those edible too? I have to say this is exciting…I mean edible flowers…we’ve been eating pansies all winter…so now begonias in the summer??? Can’t wait to try the chives flowers. 🙂

  2. Wow, I couldnt find any information on the Internet if they are edible, it looks like they are grown from a rhizome instead of a tuber, I didnt look too long so I dont know, but that would be great if you can ..I will let you know if I find out more! The Chives are so good 🙂

  3. Mmmm…Chive flowers sounds like they’d make a great addition to salads! I have a small bunch of chives that survived the winter, so hopefully they’d flower soon. 🙂 I need to get some more!

  4. Tuberous Begonias are edible?! Will check them out too. We love using calendula petals in all sorts of dishes – especially beautiful on salads! Check out our photos of them on our FB 2buckmarket 🙂

Leave a Reply

