Garlic…its time to get it planted…

Today is the day …this took a bit of prep last week. Crop rotation is a bit tricky at times , the bed I had planned to use for garlic was full of Swiss chard..

Nov. 2013 019

I was determined to stick with my plan for crop rotation..so I decided to try transplanting them, even though I’ve never tried this before. Have you??

Nov. 2013 015

So they went everywhere I could find room ..

Nov. 2013 016

They are still a bit droopy I hope they pick up…These are the left overs. If they recover I’ll see if my neighbours would like them or they’ll go in the front border..

Nov. 2013 018

Then.I really wanted to try testing the soil …

Nov. 2013 004

Here’s what I used : 1/2 c. vinegar to test if the soil is alkaline and 1/2 cup of baking soda mixed with distilled water, for acidity, the one that bubbles determines the soils condition

Nov. 2013 005

I just threw in a little scoop of soil, covered it with the liquids

Nov. 2013 006

the vinegar didn’t even bubble

Nov. 2013 007

the baking soda went crazy..tada…not really a surprise at all but it was fun to try

Nov. 2013 008

lime and wood ash was added to neutralize the soil..

Nov. 2013 009

Nov. 2013 010

the tiller was put to work

Nov. 2013 012

Garlic prepped-200 Russian Red bulbs and 6 Elephant Garlic

Nov. 2013 013

aren’t they huge!

Nov. 2013 014

each hole had some organic bone meal added ..

Nov. 2013 020

then the Mulch went on. I’m trying something new this year, leaves mixed with lawn clippings instead of straw. The straw I used this year became infested with black aphids…yuk..

Nov. 2013 022

To keep the mulch in place, black mesh netting was placed over the top and held in place with metal clips..Garlic planted. Check! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Garlic…its time to get it planted…

      1. Lol!! We do enjoy it!! This is the first year that we didn’t need to purchase any new bulbs for planting and we should have enough to cook with through the winter, that’s the plan. Next year we will have a little more, if they all grow, to share 🙂

      1. Tried it, Thelma… I didn’t have a reaction like you did. The baking soda bubbled just a tiny bit, hardly at all. So I’m thinking my soil must be pretty neutral?

Leave a Reply

