Jam Making; with Local Berries

Do you go berry picking? Its a fun way to spend some time outdoors, your berries are a much better price and you know they are fresh ! I certainly don’t have room or the right location to grow a variety of Berry plants for Jam making, but, fortunately  I live close to several U-Pick farms for Raspberries, Strawberries & Blueberries.  I forgot to bring my camera on most trips .

Here is the Organic Blueberry Farm and their very sweet dog.

July 2014 020

It was a beautiful day and the bushes were loaded with fruit!

July 2014 021

We left with about 9 lbs. each

July 2014 022

which I used to make jam 🙂

July 2015 012

This is a pectin free and low sugar recipe, I love making jam this way!

July 2015 002

I made Strawberry & Raspberry Jam with the same method, it is a bit tricky but worth the effort! The flavour is pure! If you’re interested here is the website that I found explaining this technique The High Heel Gourmet

Our berries were about 2-3 weeks early this year, and may very well be finished by now, they only last a short time. Blackberries are next and should be ready soon! Here you don’t usually go to farms for these, they grow wild and most locals have there own favorite locations , I know I do 😉

5 thoughts on “Jam Making; with Local Berries

  1. I have been picking 1 to 3 quarts of raspberries a day for the last week – I’m getting SICK of raspberries, which I never thought I’d say! I have been freezing them (spread out on cookie sheets), plus giving them to friends. I think I finally found the “secret” of trimming and thinning my canes. Plus it has been a wet spring, so that made a big difference. Wish we could get strawberries here….!

    1. I would love having that many raspberries, but it does take a lot of time to pick & process all of them!
      Ours were not that big this year its been too dry.

Leave a Reply

