Tomato Season

Its been a great start , a bit unusual, as the Big Boys are the first ones that are ready, aside from the Cherry’s

Aug. 2016 006and the plants are so laden they are falling overAug. 2016 011…nice..except I don’t know how to support them at this stage and when I do try to tie them up, some of the green tomatoes fall off…Aug. 2016 014

Aug. 2016 013

as you can see , keeping them off the ground is a challenge as well…

Aug. 2016 015

at the end of the day it is a real treat to have these …

Aug. 2016 019

Now its time to decide what to do with them, process, make relish,  salsa, sauce or freeze and wait to see if they ripen 🙂

6 thoughts on “Tomato Season

  1. Crikey, you’ve got a heck of a lot of tomatoes there.

    Last time I had a big haul like that I ended up using upside down buckets and pots to keep the fruit of the ground.

    YOu might need something – great crop.

    Well done,

    Frank

    1. Yes, 32 plants in the raised bed and another 6 in pot! A lot for a small garden 🙂 Im hoping to have enough in the freezer till next summer , wish me luck! Thank-you Frank!

    1. Thank-you! Several green tomatoes fell off while I was tying them up, I have stored them in a dark cool spot in the garage on newspaper in hope that they will ripen.I I have left all the others on the vine, they will ripen over the next 2 months, all being well with the weather 😉 I do save all green tomatoes at the end of the season, some I store, the same way I previously mentioned, to see if they do ripen, some will and others wont. What ever is left over I make a really nice Green Tomato Chutney, my grandmothers recipe, I pickle them too. Thank-you for the follow, Ill be visiting your blog to chat some more about gardening 🙂

    1. How frustrating, I know the feeling , the plants I have in pots are sad looking this year, the only thing that changed was the soil, go figure….I just gave them a good cover of compost and threw in some Epsom salts, blood meal and watered them with kelp meal, hoping they will bounce back…you never know ,hope you still get some nice tomatoes from them 🙂

Leave a Reply

