Golden Nugget Jam with Ginger

What do you do with all of these beautiful Yellow Cherry Tomatoes?

I wanted to preserve some of this amazing color!

July 2016 008

I started looking for recipes and came a cross a lot of Tomato Jam recipes, Yes, Tomato Jam!  I know it sounds a little strange..right..I thought so too!

Aug. 2016 009

Some recipes  were savory others sweet,  then I found a couple that called for Lemon and Ginger…I was intrigued enough to give it a try

Aug. 2016 001

It took quite a long time to cook off the water from these beauties..

Aug. 2016 003

Well, it was worth the effort, this is packed with Flavor!

Aug. 2016 006

Let me tell you, what a pleasant surprise !

Aug. 2016 008

Now, I want to make more 🙂

Here’s the recipe:

3 lbs of Yellow Cherry Tomatoes

1 1/4 lb of sugar ( more if you like it sweeter)

Grated Rind of 3 Lemons (I used organic)

6-7 Tbsp. Lemon juice or more to taste( revised)  did not use enough last time (2016) had to throw away several jars.

1 1/2 inch grated fresh ginger, this could be altered to taste

I follow these cooking instructions for jam from  The High Heel Gourmet

then they go into a hot water bath .

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Golden Nugget Jam with Ginger

  1. That sounds good! One year I grew SIX Gold Nugget tomato plants. I can’t remember what I was thinking, but I do remember how many of those little tomatoes I had when all was said and done: a LOT! I was so sick of Gold Nugget tomatoes by the end of summer, I swore to never grow another one. But that jam sounds so good … maybe next year I’ll grow just a couple plants 😛

    1. I planted five last year, this year only three, which was more than enough for us! I think it would be worth growing them even if it’s only it for this recipe 😉

Leave a comment